Preparing for My Trip to Morocco

As a my trip to Morocco starts in a few weeks, I want to be prepared with everything before I leave for Morocco.  In addition, I would like to learn the Arabic alphabet before my departure.  Currently, my knowledge of Arabic is limited, but I do know a couple words in Arabic as well as half of the alphabet.  My goal is to know the entire Arabic alphabet before my departure.  In addition, I want to be aware of the different customs and rules in Morocco, so that I do not offend my host family in any way when I am there.  I have been placed in Rabat, the exciting capital city and I am looking forward to being there with the other NSLI-Y participants.  I want to use this incredible opportunity to gain a better understanding and appreciation of Arabic culture as well as the Arabic language.  This will allow me to understand and appreciate the Arab community better. Such programs are crucial to strengthening relations between the US and Arabic-speaking countries because currently our relationship needs improvement.  By learning more about the Arabic people, I can teach others in my community about their culture and traditions.

I received a very nice letter from the State Department congratulating me on my scholarship. I am hearing rumors that the State Department is thinking about cutting funding for the NSLI-Y program. That would be tragic and I really hope that this amazing program does not suffer from any budget cuts.

State Department Letter

I also had the opportunity to speak briefly with Congressman Joseph Kennedy, who is the House representative for my district (4th). He was extremely supportive of NSLI-Y and congratulated me on my trip and encouraged me to make the best use of my opportunity. I am looking forward to meeting him after my trip and sharing my experiences with him.

Leave a comment