My Upcoming Trip to Morocco

I first learned about the language program NSLI-Y from my brother who had previously participated in the program and went to China to study Mandarin.  This language initiative was designed to send hard-working and ambitious American students to learn foreign languages in other foreign countries. These foreign languages would be languages that were not typically languages that were taught in American high schools such as Mandarin, Arabic, Korean,Russian, and other languages. After learning about this amazing opportunity, I decided to apply for Arabic because I believe that people are ill-informed about the Arab world.  By learning more about the Arab world, I believe I can clear up misinformation regarding the Arab community. After a long and tedious application process, I was given the unique and exciting opportunity by the US sponsored program, NSLI-Y,  to travel to Rabat, Morocco.  In Morocco, I will be inducted into an intense language study program to learn Arabic and I will be introduced to Moroccan culture and customs.  During the first three weeks of the trip, I will live in a dorm room with three-four other participants.  However, after the three weeks on the trip, I will be given the chance to live in a Moroccan household that is willing to host American citizens along with another NSLI-Y participant.  This opportunity will give me the ability to understand cultures better with more appreciation for different customs and rituals of others.  In addition, by speaking Arabic, I can communicate to a larger population of the world.

 

Leave a comment