Final Thoughts

Famous writer Cecelia Ahern once said, “Home is not a place. it’s a feeling”.  I find this quote especially relevant and applicable to my journey and adventure in Morocco.  When I was in Morocco, the people were hospitable and welcomed me like I was part of their family.  This type of generosity and kindness are qualities that were unique in every way.

In addition, the time I spent studying Arabic was truly wonderful as I was able to apply the material I learned in class to communicate with my host family, have meaningful conversations with the Moroccan people, and even bargain with the shopkeepers. It was also fun to surprise Moroccan civilians by speaking Arabic with them.  By becoming fully immersed in the Arab culture, I was able to fully appreciate and understand the Arabic language and culture.

Overall, the experience and knowledge I gained on this trip has been truly exceptional and I will never forget the friends I made on this trip, The knowledge I gained, and the epiphanies I acquired are truly priceless.  I thank everyone, here in America and Morocco, who made this experience possible.

This week, we were invited to visit the compound of the United States Peace Corps in Morocco. We met with the Country Director for Peace Corps Morocco and the former Country Director of Peace Corps Cambodia. We asked questions about her career with the U.S. Government, and we were able to take a tour of the compound before returning to the Bridges cultural center for classes.

We also had the opportunity to enjoy a special session on music styles of the Sahara Desert. Thomas Duncan, the manager and producer of Saharan music band Daraa Tribes, introduced the students to different music style of southern Morocco. He also discussed the importance of preserving music traditions in North Africa. I learned that the unique style of Saharan music stems from the mixing of cultures and traditions over hundreds of years along the ancient trading routes between Timbaktu and Marrakech. The cities and towns along this route have different tribes and cultures trace their routes to places all over Africa and the Middle East. As a result, the musical traditions of these communities are an amalgamation of different sounds and techniques from all over the continent.

Tomorrow, we will be spending the day with our host families and next week, we will ne traveling to Essaouira to complete our amazing journey. Essaouira, formerly known as Mogador, is an ancient trading city known for its high ramparts and ancient city walls. Can’t wait to see it!

NSLI-Y Rabat PC Morocco

Leave a comment